A rainy day in 1937
The listed building celebrated its 150th anniversary in 2004. It closed in 2005 after Croydon Council secured £90,000 funding for maintenance work on dilapidated parts of the historical landmark in Postmill Close.
Today's mill was built by Richard Alwen in 1854 to replace the first mill on the site which was destroyed by fire. Richard's grandfather William built the original in 1808. By 1893 Alfred Rayson, the owner at the time, was forced to abandon the mill as it was unviable. After closure it was allowed to deteriorate, being struck by lightning in 1899 and again in 1906.
There have been a number of restorations over the years. The first was in 1927 by George Givan who purchased Shirley Court and the mill. In 1951 the mill and land were acquired by Croydon Corporation's Annie Givan.
The mill was threatened with demolition when John Ruskin School was built but it was saved by its listed status and strong public interest. The possibility of the windmill becoming a museum has been mooted since 1977, but it was not until August 1996 that it was announced that Croydon Council was to receive a grant of £218,100 from the Heritage Lottery Fund.
The lottery money has helped restore the mill to working order and open it to a wide-ranging audience. There are touch screen interactive displays, information panels and hands-on activities provide an exciting educational experience which meets the needs of the national curriculum for school parties and makes an enjoyable day out for the general public.